Originally built as the first national monument to Thomas Jefferson, the Missouri History Museum looks at the history of St. Louis from its founding in 1764 up to the present day.
The Museum is located in beautiful Forest Park, on the site of the main entrance to the 1904 World’s Fair. The Jefferson Memorial Building section of the Museum was built entirely with proceeds from the Fair, and opened to the public on April 30, 1913. Suspended above visitors in the Museum’s Grand Hall is “The Spirit of St. Louis,” sister plane to Lindbergh’s, which was featured in the 1957 film of the same name starring Jimmy Stewart.
Visitors can discover the city’s baseball history from the Browns to the Cardinals, learn about life on the Mississippi River, marvel at the magnitude of the 1904 World’s Fair, and much more. The History Clubhouse is a special gallery with hands-on activities for children.
General admission to the Museum is free. The Museum also features a rotating schedule of free special exhibitions throughout the year.
See website for special exhibit schedule.
|10:00 am — 5:00 pm
|10:00 am — 8:00 pm