The Joe Dice Swinging Bridge was one of three "Swingers" used in the Warsaw area. Originally referred to as the Upper Bridge, it was built in 1904. In 1924, the bridge was destroyed by a tornado, and then rebuilt in 1928. It remained in use for automotive traffic until 1979, when it was replaced by the 7 Highway bridge.
The swinging bridge was used exclusively for foot traffic until 2000, at which time conditions required it to be closed until repairs could be made. It's also one of five remaining bridges built by Joseph A. Dice. This self-taught engineer didn't finish the fourth grade and never used blueprints to build any of the original 31 suspension bridges.
Placed on the National Historical Register on September 17, 1999, the "Upper Bridge" is the last of 15 swinging bridges that once crossed the Osage River linking the Great Lakes with the Gulf of Mexico.
Today ...the Joe Dice Swinging Bridge is a favorite for visitors and locals. Numerous trails from Drake Harbor connect to and from the Swinging Bridge for bicyclists, walkers, hikers and more. Enjoy miles of Riverfront trails that have been developed which is also accessible to handicap and wheel chairs. Come across the Swinging Bridge and view the Osage River without getting wet. Fun for the whole family! Bring the bikes, walk, run and or walk the dog...great wildlife to see, great scenery and it's all free.
Warsaw....Best place to explore!