Amenities at Fort Smith Park include three full-scale cannons, restored redoubts, a lookout point, period flags, informative signage, and an ordnance shed displaying illustrations of various types of artillery shells used in the conflict. Visitors can relax and picnic with wonderful views of the city and countryside.
Ft. Smith, named for Colonel Robert F. Smith, was erected in September 1861 as a safeguard against conflicting armies battling on either side of the state line. By spring 1862, the Union troops at Ft. Smith were downsized.
The park is closed October 15-April 15.
|April — October|