The campgrounds include: 75 campsites, a group site, 17 picnic sites, drinking water and vault toilets. Each campsite has a table, lantern post and fire ring; some have electric hookups. Some campsites are reservable at www.recreation.gov or by calling 877-444-6777. The campgrounds and picnic areas are open March 5-Oct. 17.
Located along the St. Francis River, the area offers a variety of recreational activities and an abundance of historic and geological wonders. The silver mine started in 1877 and closed in 1946. A dam was built across the river by the mining company; the dam and the entrance to the mine are still there.
Enjoy kayaking, canoeing, swimming, hiking and picnicking year-round. The river offers an excellent white water experience. There are two miles of trails along the river, offering spectacular views.