Maramec Spring Park contains the fifth-largest spring in the state, averaging 100 million gallons of water daily. The resulting Meramec River provides excellent trout fishing. The Missouri Department of Conservation stocks the stream with trout daily. Fishing at Maramec Spring Park is a relaxing and fun experience for the family. A Missouri fishing permit and a daily trout tag are required.
The 200-acre public use area includes, among other attractions: cafe; general store; camp sites (some with elect.); wildlife viewing; fish feeding; picnicking; shelters; playgrounds.
The area contains the remains of the Maramec Iron Works, which operated from 1826 until 1876, and a museum which chronicles history and operation of the iron works.
The park is open year-round; an entry fee is charged mid-February through October. Annual passes may be purchased at the park.
Maramec Spring Park is privately owned and operated by The James Foundation, a not-for-profit organization.