Sign up to receive e-newsletters, discounts and promotions
The winery is situated on 75 acres, amongst four lakes, in a truly rustic setting. Soak up the views from the tasting room and deck overlooking the big lake (especially those sunsets); take a relaxing walk on the grounds; enjoy live music Saturday nights; savor our mouthwatering, wood-fired, rustic Italian pizzas (Fri., Say. & Sun.) – you are instantly transported away from the hustle and bustle of the real world.
Arcadian Moon is a great choice for your private events. With ample grounds, a large deck, and multiple event and meeting rooms, we have just the right space. With our fully-certified kitchen, we can create the menu you are looking for.
In the tasting room you can sample and purchase our wines, learn about and join our Wine Club and browse the gift shop.
We are located 45 minutes east of Kansas City, one mile off of I-70 at exit 49.
This charming home, built in 1853, is filled with antiques. It is on the National Historic Register. Two guestrooms, one with a fireplace. Porch swings. Full breakfast.
The entire village of Arrow Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic places.
Take a one-and-a-half hour tour of this 1800s village in a seven-passenger tram. Stops include the restored 1837 home of artist George Caleb Bingham; the Victorian home and gun shop of J.P. Sites; and other hostoric sites.
Sign up for the tram tour at the Friends of Arrow Rock office, on the boardwalk in Arrow Rock; or schedule in advance by phone.
June-Aug., tours operate daily. April-May and Sep.-Oct., tours are on Sat.-Sun. only.
Price: $5; younger than 12, $2.50; groups, $3 per person.
Warm. Welcoming. Approachable. Offering wine novices and connoisseurs fine wines, a relaxed environment and personal service. Come relax on our wine deck or in our indoor seating area.
Free tasting and tours; live music; and events throughout the year.
Closed Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.
Our menu includes a variety of choices, everything from fried green beaks to fresh grilled-chicken salad to steaks and shrimp. We also offer sandwiches, from burgers to tenderloins, and entrees, such as our smoked pork chop. On weekends, we offer specials featuring catfish and peel-and-eat shrimp.
We feature a full bar with several beers and wines - including wines from the Bushwhacker Bend Winery, located just across the street - and specialty drinks; our strawberry cake is among our customers' favorite desserts.
Blind Pony Lake Hatchery and Conservation Area offers a diverse range of activities for the outdoor-minded person. The area has good hunting opportunities for dove, quail, small game, deer and turkey. Blind Pony Lake contains bluegill, largemouth bass, channel and blue catfish.
From Sweet Springs at I-70: north one mile on Route 127; east 6.5 miles on Route ZZ.
The mission of the Brunswick Area Chamber of Commerce is to promote and foster economic development; market Brunswick and the area as a tourist destination; work with the City of Brunswick, county commissioners, and elected state officials to ensure prosperity, safety, and an increased standard of living for the residents of the area.
A unique store featuring clothing; materials and supplies for historic reenacting; Missouri-made food items, soaps; and unusual gifts. Located in the old blacksmith shop.
We have another location (our main store), eight miles away in Blackwater.
The village of Arrow Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
This memorial statue in Ridge Park Cemetery represents a combination of Confederate and Union soldiers. Austin Dennis fought for the South; his brother Davis for the North. A monument lists the area's Confederate veterans.
This hotel is designed to resemble a train station from yesteryear, with all the amenities of today. We offer fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon. Browse the lobby showcasing keepsakes and antiques from days long gone. We have data port telephones, copy and fax machines, and a meeting room. Some rooms include a jetted tub.
The hotel was designed to resemble a train station of yesteryear, offering all the amenities of today. Rooms have 32-inch flatscreen TV, fridge/microwaves, and CD/MP3 players. Free hot breakfast; free USA Today or local paper; free local calls; Free HSIA; free business center; free pass to full workout facility. The lobby is filled with keepsakes and antiques from days long gone. The hotel's library has a fireplace.
Built in 1912, this bungalow is the only one of its kind in Arrow Rock. Five guestrooms with private baths; also a private guest cottage with kitchen. Full breakfast is served. Relax on the front porch. Reunions, church and business retreats are welcome.
Experience history while you dine. This building has served travelers along the Santa Fe Trail since 1834, making it the oldest continually-serving restaurant west of the Mississippi River. Tours are available year-round, but the restaurant itself is open seasonally.
The tavern was built by Joseph Huston as the Huston family home in 1834, as a Federal-style 2 1/2 story brick structure. By 1840, Huston was known as a hotelkeeper, serving Missouri River and Santa Fe Trail Travelers. At this time, a brick addition was added housing a mercantile store on the first floor and ballroom that doubles as the town hall on the second floor.
A rare example of 19th century decorative stenciling has survived and the lobby maintains the original wood floors. Frame additions for dining space and additional bedrooms were added after 1850 and the detached summer kitchen was incorporated into the main building.
A cupola on the roof houses a salvaged steamboat bell that announced meal times and emergencies. Visitors today enjoy ringing the bell by tugging the rope that hangs in the lobby, suspended from above.
In 1912, the National Old Trails Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) brought national attention to the “Old Tavern” because of its association with the Santa Fe Trail. In 1923, the DAR persuaded the state legislature to purchase the Tavern for $5,000, making it the first building in Missouri set aside for historic preservation with public funds. They were appointed by the state as “custodians” of the Tavern; in 1937 they reported that they had served 1,834 meals, an amount now surpassed in a single month.
This is a memorial garden in honor of Jim the Wonder Dog. Jim was a Llewellyn setter born of pureblood champion field stock in Louisiana. He lived most of his life in Marshall, Mo., and traveled all over the country showing people his amazing talents. There is a statue, water garden, gazebo and information on Jim. Books and other Jim memorabilia is available at Courtstreet Classics on the downtown square.
The Marshall Chamber of Commerce offers maps, tourism information, and relocation information.
A self-guided driving tour of several Civil War points of interest, including an execution site, courthouse, churches and cemeteries.
Brochure and maps are available at Chamber office and the Saline County Historical Society.
The Martin Community Center includes six rooms. The interior walls can be manipulated to provide a table arrangement to accommodate up to 500 people or a theater-style arrangement for up to 650 people. Tables, podium, PA with CD player, and Wi-Fi are included. Linens, stage sound equipment, projector, and screens are available to rent. The catering kitchen features two warming ovens, an over-sized refrigerator, and a 400-pound capacity ice machine. A list of caterers is available.
Aviation museum featuring interactive exhibits, some designed especially with young people in mind; videotaped personal stories; restored aircraft; and memorabilia. School field trips are encouraged and can be arranged by contacting the museum in advance.
Admission: $6; group discounts available.
Family-owned Peters Orchard and Market in Waverly features over 500 acres of apples and more than 20 acres of peaches. Orchard production generally goes from mid-July to the end of November.
In addition to retail and wholesale apples and peaches, Peters Market’s features other locally-grown produce in season; fruit butters (apple and peach) and jams made in their on-site kitchen; honey, sorghum, salsas, nuts, snack mixes and more made especially for them.
There are a free kids’ playground and a picnic area on-site.
Check the Peters Market website or Facebook page for the ripening schedule.
This 1882 courthouse has a central tower built of red pressed-brick, trimmed in limestone. The courthouse grounds contain a 1927 statue and memorial to World War I veterans. On the Marshall square.
This cemetery is the burial place of Missouri governors Meredith Miles Marmaduke and Claiborne Fox Jackson, along with Dr. John Sappington, a pioneer in the use of quinine to treat malaria. All were prominent Arrow Rock citizens. The cemetery is located five miles southwest of Arrow Rock.
This small replica of the Statue of Liberty is located at the entrance to Indian Foothills Park.
This is a nine-hole, grass grees, links style golf course. We have a swimming pool, full-service bar and restaurant.
Clean rooms (smoking and non-smoking), with 27-inch TVs (70 channels including HBO), high speed wireless internet and a meeting room, 24 hour coffee and free continental breakfast in the morning. 24 hours daily, 7 days a week.
The Missouria Indians, who gave their name to the state and river, inhabited this area. The park features remnants of the Missouria Indian village that sat at the Great Bend of the Missouri River. A hand-dug earthwork, called the Old Fort, and several burial mounds lie within the park.
Exhibits inside Missouri's American Indian Cultural Center showcase the park's history and the history of American Indians in Missouri.
Picnicking, camping, fishing, and trails, including a boardwalk trail through the park's wetland, are available. The park is located 12 miles northwest of Marshall.
Explore the Boone's Lick Region - Part I
Whether you spell it Boone's Lick or Boonslick, you'll be wowed by the unique history in this area of Northwest and Central Missouri.
Explore the Boone's Lick Region - Part II
Where Gray Ghosts Walked
Confederate Guerrillas, known as Gray Ghosts, were active in these areas.
Contact Us | Blog | Privacy Statement | ADA Compliance | Help Us Help You | Facebook Disclaimer
Listings of businesses and events appearing on this site are supplied by the entities themselves. All information is subject to change without notice. Listings are posted for information only. The Missouri Division of Tourism (MDT) assumes no responsibility or liability for the accuracy or the content of individual listings or for the validity of any Web links included therein. A listing appearing on VisitMO does not imply endorsement or recommendation by MDT, the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the State of Missouri or any department/division thereof.
Web Development by SteadyRain Internet Strategy, Web Design, and Online Marketing