Sign up to receive e-newsletters, discounts and promotions
This picturesque little town lies between the bluffs, at the confluence of the Osage River and Missouri River. During its prime, Bonnots Mill was a hub for commerce, with riverboats and steam-powered trains supplying the region with goods.
Today, this early French settlement offers a general store, a saloon and restaurant, a bed and breakfast inn, and a wedding chapel. This entire district is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
A unique store featuring clothing; materials and supplies for historic reenacting; Missouri-made food items, soaps; and unusual gifts. Located in the old blacksmith shop.
We have another location (our main store), eight miles away in Blackwater.
The village of Arrow Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
This restored 1790s French and American Indian trading post and village includes five log houses, all of which are furnished with 1700s American antiques. One house is thought to be the oldest log home west of the Mississippi River.
The trading post contains an extraordinary collection of 18th and 19th century artifacts and furnishings, including a trade room, a blacksmith's shop and living quarters.
Overlooks the Missouri River, the landscaping and gardens represent the period.
A historian gives a one-hour tour, by appointment only. While admission is not charged, donations are appreciated.
Journey to a time when Missouri was way out West, in the wilderness. Experience the lives of the men and women who secured the American frontier. Built in 1808, under the direction of William Clark, co-leader of the Lewis & Clark expedition, the Fort served a dual role as a military garrison and a trade center. Overlooking the Missouri River, this historic site has been reconstructed to portray Fort Osage as it was in 1812. Authentically attired interpreters provide living-history insights into the daily life of the military, civilian and American Indian populations.
The Fort Osage Education Center, adjacent to the Fort, has a permanent exhibit area which features interactive exhibits on geology, local flora and fauna of the early 19th century, Hopewell Indians, Osage Indians, Lewis and Clark, Fort Osage, and the Missouri River. The Center has special exhibit space, classroom, meeting rooms, auditorium and conservation laboratory, including archival storage.
From Kansas City: Route 24 east to Buckner; north at Sibley Street (Route BB); through Sibley, following signs to Fort Osage.
Admission: $7, ages 5-13, $4, age 62+, $3.
This scenic street, once part of the Santa Fe Trail, runs along the bluff above the Missouri River. The district contains more than 25 homes built in the 1800s. Don’t miss the Missouri River overlook from the World War Memorial Steps.
Historic District map available at Lexington Tourism Bureau, 927 Main St.
Once named the Williamsburg of the West by Southern Living magazine, this Main Street region is Missouri's first and largest nationally registered historic district. Running parallel to the Missouri River, the brick-paved streets are home to one-of-a-kind shops, in restored buildings that date to the 1800s.
The area welcomes visitors who enjoy experiencing the sights and sounds of early America. Shop for, among other things: teas; tobacco; books; artwork; fashion accessories; furniture; antiques; clothing; home decor; wine; hand-blown glass; fine jewelry; and stained glass.
When you're ready for a break, you'll find ice cream and desserts; cafes and coffee houses; a winery; a microbrewery; a wide variety of restaurants; and a casino. (Some shops and all restaurants restrict pets, other than service animals.)
Lexington's downtown area is listed on the National Register and includes the 1847 Lafayette County Courthouse and many 19th century storefronts and structures.
Shopkeepers, restaurants and offices on Main Street and Franklin Avenue still do business in the same buildings where the early citizens of Lexington worked and shopped.
Many of the buildings contain antique and gift shops, each one with its own personality. Visit the shops and enjoy the period renovation that showcases each building.
Lexington, founded in 1822, was, by 1830, the largest and most important Missouri River town west of St. Louis. The Old Neighborhoods Historic District east of downtown on Main Street, Franklin Avenue and South Street, contains 19th- and 20th-century homes and churches with a variety of architecture, from early Greek Revival to Italianate to Queen Anne and Colonial.
The Capitol, completed in 1918, covers three acres in downtown Jefferson City. The dome rising 238 feet above ground level and is topped by a bronze statue of Ceres, the Roman goddess of vegetation. In addition to housing the two legislative bodies, the building provides office space for the governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, treasurer, state auditor and administrative agencies. It holds the Missouri State Museum, which features exhibits of historical significance.
The structure is notable for its architectural features, including: eight 48-foot columns on the south portico; six 40-foot columns on the north side; a 30-foot-wide grand stairway; and 13-foot by 18-foot bronze doors on the south side. Tours provide an excellent education on the State of Missouri and the structure itself.
Guided 45-minute tours are given, free of charge, Monday thru Saturday, on the hour, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. (except at noon), and Sun., at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., 2 p.m., 3 p.m. Self-guided maps are available at the tour desk, on the first floor. Reservations required for groups of 10+.
It is interesting to note that, contrary to popular belief, the north side, facing the river, is the front of the Capitol. The photo shown here is of the south side (the back) of the building.
Route 224 has been designated as the Old Trails Road Scenic Byway because of its unique history, and its scenic, recreational, cultural and natural qualities.
The picturesque drive from Lexington through Wellington and Waterloo to Napoleon runs alongside the Missouri River. Travelers experience a roadway that was traveled by American Indians, fur traders, trappers, explorers, westward pioneers, gold seekers, ox carts, covered wagons, Santa Fe Trail traders, Civil War troops, Jayhawkers, Bushwhackers, coal miners, farmers, early-day motorists and present-day tourists.
Built in 1819, Thornhill is the oldest governor’s home still standing in Missouri. It was the home of Frederick Bates, Missouri’s second governor (1824), and his family. The site includes: the home; the original barn; a second barn which was built around 1860; a distillery; a smokehouse; an icehouse; a granary; and the blacksmith’s shop. The family cemetery holds the graves of Frederick Bates, his wife, Nancy, two of their four children and three family friends.
Prior to becoming governor, Bates was the territorial secretary for the Louisiana Territory under Territorial Governor William Clark. Frederick Bates was the brother of Edward Bates, who was Attorney General under Abraham Lincoln, and James Bates, the Territorial Senator to the Arkansas Territory. Thornhill is the trailhead of the 1.4-mile Governor Frederick Bates Trail, which winds down the Missouri River bluffs, then up through Faust Park.
Founded in 1880, Wentworth Military Academy and College is one of nation's oldest and most respected military schools. It offers high school and college degrees.
"The Doughboy" statue and Vietnam War memorial are on campus. The district surrounding the academy is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Visitors can walk or drive through the campus. Tours are available by appointment.
A Day at the Capital
Enjoy a visit to Jefferson City, the capital of Missouri.
Haunted Places and Historical Sites in St. Charles
With plenty of historical sites to visit and haunted places along the Missouri River, there are adventures on every corner in St. Charles.
History Lessons in Central Missouri
Sites in Central Missouri offer much more than a look at history in the Show-Me State.
Holiday Getaway - Central Missouri
Enjoy shopping, dining, and exploring Central Missouri during the holidays.
Holiday Getaway - Northeast Missouri
Enjoy cities of all sizes during your holiday escape to Northeast Missouri.
Missouri's Great River Road
Enjoy the sights along Missouri's section of the Great River Road.
The Civil War: Grant and Gray Ghosts
Explore Civil War sites with ties to the Ulysses S. Grant and Gray Ghost Trails.
Contact Us | Blog | Privacy Statement | ADA Compliance | Help Us Help You | Facebook Disclaimer
Listings of businesses and events appearing on this site are supplied by the entities themselves. All information is subject to change without notice. Listings are posted for information only. The Missouri Division of Tourism (MDT) assumes no responsibility or liability for the accuracy or the content of individual listings or for the validity of any Web links included therein. A listing appearing on VisitMO does not imply endorsement or recommendation by MDT, the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the State of Missouri or any department/division thereof.
Web Development by SteadyRain Internet Strategy, Web Design, and Online Marketing