Sign up to receive e-newsletters, discounts and promotions
The Bauvais- Amoureux House was built circa 1792 by Jean Baptiste St. Gemme Bauvais. It overlooks Le Grand Champ, the fertile agricultural fields of colonial Ste. Genevieve. Its upright cedar log walls are set directly in the earth in the rare poteaux-en-terre method of construction. Hewn timbers form the Norman trusses which support the steeply pitched roof reminiscent of French Canada. Purchased by Benjamin Amoureux in 1852, the house is now part of the Felix Valle State Historic Site. It features an impressive diorama depicting the village of Ste. Genevieve in 1832.
The Common Pleas Courthouse was completed in 1854. It sits high atop a hill, overlooking downtown. It played a big part in our history, from American Indian council meetings to the Civil War. The dungeon was used to jail southern sympathizers and perhaps Confederate soldiers.
On the west side of the courthouse stand three memorials: A cast of a Union soldier, who sits atop a fountain way, was presented by the Women's Relief Corps in 1911; another, made from Georgia silver gray marble, was presented to the city in 1931, by the United Daughters of the Confederacy; the third is a Vietnam Memorial.
This attraction has an audio tour you can access on your cell phone while on-site, to give you the complete history.
In the summer of 1861, four forts were built around the strategic city of Cape Girardeau. Fort D was designed by German-American engineers. The forts were built by soldiers, under the direction of Lt. John Wesley Powell; he later gained fame as the explorer of the Grand Canyon.
Fort D featured as many as five cannons, the largest of which could fire a 32-pound cannon ball. The fort was manned throughout the Civil War.
Of the four earthen forts, only Fort D remains. It is located four blocks south of the intersection of Route 74 and Sprigg Street. Living History demonstrations are held Memorial weekend, July 4th and Labor Day.
Restored one-room school that operated at Higgerson Landing on the Mississippi River in 1948. Higgerson School is a window into the educational practices that shaped and served rural America. Experience the typical school day of a youngster who would have attended all eight grades in one room, with one teacher.
Admission: $3; ages 6-12, $1.50.
The Jacques Guibourd Historic House was constructed in 1806 in the poteaux-sur-sole style with vertical, hand-hewn log walls and double pitched roof. This important National Register site is the only historic house in Ste. Genevieve where the visitor can view and study 'up close', the Norman truss architecture employed at the time.
The house displays a more refined rendition of the typical French Colonial residence in the era of Lewis and Clark and is finished with elegant French antiques. The museum is owned and operated by the Foundation for Restoration of Ste. Genevieve, Inc. as a memorial to its donor, Jules Felix Vallé.
The Jacques Guibourd House gives discounts to members of organizations who participate in the Time Travelers Program. Admission includes a costumed docent-guided tour. Open daily April through the 1st weekend in December.
The memorial includes the Gateway Arch, the Museum of Westward Expansion, and the Old Courthouse. Ride the tram to the top of the Gateway Arch; view a film; enjoy the extensive collection of artifacts and history of the American West in the museum; learn about the freedom trials of Dred Scott, which took place at the Old Courthouse. Operated by the National Park Service.
This nine-acre site is on the St. Louis Riverfront Trail, three miles north of downtown St. Louis, just north of the Merchant’s Bridge. In the early morning hours of May 21, 1855, a small group of runaway slaves and their guides crossed the Mississippi River from St. Louis, attempting to reach a route to freedom through Illinois. Accompanying them was Mary Meachum, a free woman of color, the widow of a prominent black clergyman.
The area is marked by a designation sign. A colorful wall mural by the students of Logos School interprets the Meachum event.
A rest stop and native plant nursery are housed in a former Coast Guard boat facility. The building features a spacious deck overlooking the river. It is staffed during peak periods by the Grace Hill AmeriCorps Trail Rangers, who provide directions, general and mechanical assistance.
In December 2001, the Meachum site was dedicated as part of the National Park Service's Underground Railroad Network to Freedom.
Please note, there is no secure parking on the Missouri side of this bridge. The parking lot on the Missouri side is considered closed, except in cases of special events. Please click on the weblink above to find bridge access and parking information.
Once part of Route 66—the Mother Road—this bridge across the Mississippi River was reopened in 1999 as one of the world's longest pedestrian-bicycle-only bridges. It connects Missouri’s St. Louis Riverfront Trail with the MCT Confluence Trail in Illinois.
This is a particularly scenic stretch of the Mississippi River, overlooking the natural chain of rocks, from which it derives its name.
Built between 1839 and 1862, this historic courthouse was the scene of one of the nation's most important cases: the freedom trial of Dred and Harriet Scott. The Old Courthouse is part of the Core of Discovery, a downtown St. Louis family attractions district. Daily tours and films are offered.
Built in 1819, Thornhill is the oldest governor’s home still standing in Missouri. It was the home of Frederick Bates, Missouri’s second governor (1824), and his family. The site includes: the home; the original barn; a second barn which was built around 1860; a distillery; a smokehouse; an icehouse; a granary; and the blacksmith’s shop. The family cemetery holds the graves of Frederick Bates, his wife, Nancy, two of their four children and three family friends.
Prior to becoming governor, Bates was the territorial secretary for the Louisiana Territory under Territorial Governor William Clark. Frederick Bates was the brother of Edward Bates, who was Attorney General under Abraham Lincoln, and James Bates, the Territorial Senator to the Arkansas Territory. Thornhill is the trailhead of the 1.4-mile Governor Frederick Bates Trail, which winds down the Missouri River bluffs, then up through Faust Park.
Celebrate Black History in Missouri
Celebrate the contributions of noteworthy Missourians.
Civil-War Sites in Southeast Missouri
Check out these sites that have close ties to the War Between the States.
Holiday Getaway - Southeast Missouri
Learn more about regional history and culture in Southeast Missouri.
Honor Tour - Part Three
Military Museums and Memorials in northeast and southeast Missouri
Head toward the Bootheel to experience Southern hospitality, Missouri style.
Route 66 Part One
Route 66 is a great way to explore the Show-Me State and to see some truly unique sites.
St. Louis Arch-itecture Day One
Enjoy the sites and styles of architecture you find across one of Missouri's most historic cities.
Step Back in Time
The history of Cape Girardeau is on full display during this getaway.
Contact Us | Blog | Privacy Statement | ADA Compliance | Help Us Help You | Facebook Disclaimer
Listings of businesses and events appearing on this site are supplied by the entities themselves. All information is subject to change without notice. Listings are posted for information only. The Missouri Division of Tourism (MDT) assumes no responsibility or liability for the accuracy or the content of individual listings or for the validity of any Web links included therein. A listing appearing on VisitMO does not imply endorsement or recommendation by MDT, the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the State of Missouri or any department/division thereof.
Web Development by SteadyRain Internet Strategy, Web Design, and Online Marketing