Sign up to receive e-newsletters, discounts and promotions
For more than forty years, this was the only courthouse between Independence and the Pacific Ocean.
Harry S. Truman held court here in the 1930s. Also, it served as a Mormon mercantile.
Kansas City's oldest remaining brick residence is located in the Westport area. The Greek Revival mansion was built in 1855 by early settlers, John and Henrietta Harris. The bricks for the mansion were made on the premises.
The house stood prominently on the Battle of Westport Civil War Battlefield. In the fall of 1861, the Harris home was used as headquarters for the Union Army.
The house was moved to its present location in 1922. The house is restored to its 1850s appearance.
Visit our website for details and special event schedules.
The dungeon-like cells of the jail housed thousands of prisoners during the bloodiest time in Jackson County's history, including Frank James and William Quantrill. An 1870s schoohouse completes the site. Closed November and January-March.
In 1894, this roller mill and one-room schoolhouse was the focal point of the Alley Spring community.
Park rangers in period costume show you how the mill worked, and how school was taught in the one-room schoolhouse. A variety of historic programs are offered.
Open June thru August.
NOTE: Alley Mill will be closed or access limited much of the summer in 2014 for restoration work. Check the website or call for details.
This fully restored 1901 courthouse is on National Register of Historic Places. It is made of Carthage marble. See the moonface clock tower, catwalk, statues of Lady Columbia and Lady Justices, tile quilt-pattern floor. View the 1863 Order No. 11 picture and murals.
The Bauvais- Amoureux House was built circa 1792 by Jean Baptiste St. Gemme Bauvais. It overlooks Le Grand Champ, the fertile agricultural fields of colonial Ste. Genevieve. Its upright cedar log walls are set directly in the earth in the rare poteaux-en-terre method of construction. Hewn timbers form the Norman trusses which support the steeply pitched roof reminiscent of French Canada. Purchased by Benjamin Amoureux in 1852, the house is now part of the Felix Valle State Historic Site. It features an impressive diorama depicting the village of Ste. Genevieve in 1832.
On November 9, 1990, one year after the fall of the Berlin Wall, United States President Ronald Reagan dedicated Breakthrough, an 11-foot-high by 32-foot-long structure sculpted from eight sections of the actual Berlin Wall. It stands beside the Churchill Museum on the campus of Westminster College. The monument was created by Sir Winston’s granddaughter, Edwina Sandys, to commemorate the fall of the Berlin Wall. Westminster College is the site where Winston Churchill gave his famous Iron Curtain speech.
The Bible Grove School House was built in 1921. It was constructed to consolidate the many schoolhouses in the Mt. Pleasant Township. The 1921 school housed kindergarten through high school until 1956, and kindergarten to eighth grade until 1995.
Built in 1852, along the 1846 alignment of the Santa Fe Trail, this estate was owned by George Caleb Bingham, famed Missouri Civil War artist.
From 1879 to 1978, it was home to the Waggoner family, owners of the Waggoner Gates Mill. The home contains original furnishings and paintings.
In the carriage house you will see a gift shop, an old-fashioned soda fountain, an original covered wagon and a collection of Bingham reproductions. The Carriage House is available for group luncheons, meetings, weddings and private functions.
Tours are offered daily, April through October, and from the day after Thanksgiving through December 30. Group tours may be arranged year-round, by appointment. There is a calendar of events and festivals year-round; see the website for schedules and details.
Regular admission: $6; senior, child and group rates are offered.
This picturesque little town lies between the bluffs, at the confluence of the Osage River and Missouri River. During its prime, Bonnots Mill was a hub for commerce, with riverboats and steam-powered trains supplying the region with goods.
Today, this early French settlement offers a general store, a saloon and restaurant, a bed and breakfast inn, and a wedding chapel. This entire district is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The two-story courthouse, built in 1873, houses the courtroom where the Ford brothers were tried for the murder of Jesse James.
Step into a circa 1890s store, located in Blackwater, eight miles from Arrow Rock. This trading company features an herbal counter where you find native herbal teas, bath products and balms.
We feature brightly colored textiles, rugs and saddle blankets; hand-woven baskets; carved wooden baskets, bowls and walking canes; hats for men, women and children; silver and turquoise jewelry; and hand-made pottery.
The book and music section is surrounded by original art and prints. We have living history supplies for mountain men, plus Civil War and American Indian crafts. Musicians play on many weekends.
We have an old west, living history, 1890s Saloon Museum, which is open every Saturday. We serve old-time soda pop and family fun. The second Saturday of every month, we have a shoot out. Admission is free.
Blackwater is three miles north of I-70, at Exit 89.
A unique store featuring clothing; materials and supplies for historic reenacting; Missouri-made food items, soaps; and unusual gifts. Located in the old blacksmith shop.
We have another location (our main store), eight miles away in Blackwater.
The village of Arrow Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
This was the hub of opportunity and commerce in 1870 “Newtown,” as North Springfield was then called.
C-Street is a mix of eclectic artisans, entertainment and shopping. Watch a train from one of the country’s longest footbridges; shop at the seasonal farmer’s market; visit the art galleries, antique and flea markets, photography and art studios, and vintage clothing venues.
Treat yourself to some one-of-a-kind businesses: a chocolate factory that roasts its own cacao; a microbrewery; the city’s oldest tavern; a massage and day spa school; pizza at a 51-year-old pizzeria. All this within six unique blocks of intact, circa 1900 architecture.
Visit our website for details, hours and event schedules.
Note: the address and phone shown are for the district offices.
The Common Pleas Courthouse was completed in 1854. It sits high atop a hill, overlooking downtown. It played a big part in our history, from American Indian council meetings to the Civil War. The dungeon was used to jail southern sympathizers and perhaps Confederate soldiers.
On the west side of the courthouse stand three memorials: A cast of a Union soldier, who sits atop a fountain way, was presented by the Women's Relief Corps in 1911; another, made from Georgia silver gray marble, was presented to the city in 1931, by the United Daughters of the Confederacy; the third is a Vietnam Memorial.
This attraction has an audio tour you can access on your cell phone while on-site, to give you the complete history.
A Carnegie library built in 1904 has a wide selection of books and periodicals and offers computers with Internet access.
Built in two sections by Western adventurer Henri Chatillon and the DeMenil family, the mansion was constructed between 1849 and 1863. Restored to represent life as the DeMenils lived it in the late 19th century, the house is full of stories.
The families who lived here were descendants of the founders of St. Louis and part of the exploration of the West. Through stories and images, you meet buffalo hunters, a Creole-Sioux family, a patent medicine maker, and a poet and politician who stayed in the mansion long after the neighborhood became industrial.
Furnished with Demenil family heirlooms and antiques, the house is a true museum of Victorian culture. The mansion is home to the largest permanent collection of 1904 World’s Fair memorabilia, numbering more than 1,200 pieces.
Tours are offered on the hour. Admission: $5; younger than 12, $2.
The mansion hosts many special tours and events throughout the year; check our website for details and schedules. The museum is closed during the month of January.
This memorial statue in Ridge Park Cemetery represents a combination of Confederate and Union soldiers. Austin Dennis fought for the South; his brother Davis for the North. A monument lists the area's Confederate veterans.
A masterpiece of French Romanesque Revival architecture, the Compton Hill Water Tower dates from 1898, when it housed a massive column of water that regulated the pressure entering the City's fresh water system.
Although surpassed in the 1920s by other water technology, the Water Tower remains a revered landmark on the City's near south side, and is on the National Register of Historic Places as one of only seven such water towers remaining in the United States.
Situated on one of the City's highest elevations, the Tower's 179-ft. height offers spectacular, 360-degree views of city neighborhoods, the downtown Gateway Arch and nearby Illinois. Visitors can climb the 198-step inside stairway to see panoramic daytime and dramatic nighttime vistas. Viewing dates are monthly from April to November - afternoons of the first Saturday and evenings of a full moon. See website for location, calendar of visitor dates and other details.
The village is comprised of the Bryan log cabin, built in the 1799; the Dickhaus-Stemme home, built in the 1860s; the Mellien log cabin; and the 1850s Devereaux schoolhouse.
Call for information about tours, school field trips, dinner programs, living history demonstrations, workshops, encampments , and other events.
This circa 1885 two-story brick house was built by Darius Heald, son of War of 1812 veteran Nathan Heald. The home's second story was destroyed by a tornado in 1915 and rebuilt one foot shorter. Open January-September and during special events. Closed holidays. Admission: $2. Tours available by appointment. In Fort Zumwalt Park.
Built in 1852, this was the first two-story brick home in Clinton. Once the home of Judge J.G. Dorman, Udolpha Miller Dorman and their seven children. It is available for tours and private events. Contact the Henry County Museum for a private tour.
The Eugene Field House was the home of Roswell Field, the key attorney in the landmark Dred Scott Freedom suit. The house is the birthplace and childhood home of Roswell’s son, Eugene Field, The Children's Poet.
The gift shop, located on the third floor, sells selected publications by Eugene Field, plus a variety of toys, games, post cards, books and Field memorabilia.
Admission: $5; ages 4-11, $1; younger than 4, free.
Closed national holidays.
This restored 1790s French and American Indian trading post and village includes five log houses, all of which are furnished with 1700s American antiques. One house is thought to be the oldest log home west of the Mississippi River.
The trading post contains an extraordinary collection of 18th and 19th century artifacts and furnishings, including a trade room, a blacksmith's shop and living quarters.
Overlooks the Missouri River, the landscaping and gardens represent the period.
A historian gives a one-hour tour, by appointment only. While admission is not charged, donations are appreciated.
In the summer of 1861, four forts were built around the strategic city of Cape Girardeau. Fort D was designed by German-American engineers. The forts were built by soldiers, under the direction of Lt. John Wesley Powell; he later gained fame as the explorer of the Grand Canyon.
Fort D featured as many as five cannons, the largest of which could fire a 32-pound cannon ball. The fort was manned throughout the Civil War.
Of the four earthen forts, only Fort D remains. It is located four blocks south of the intersection of Route 74 and Sprigg Street. Living History demonstrations are held Memorial weekend, July 4th and Labor Day.
A Day at the Capital
Enjoy a visit to Jefferson City, the capital of Missouri.
Celebrate Black History in Missouri
Celebrate the contributions of noteworthy Missourians.
Civil-War Sites in Southeast Missouri
Check out these sites that have close ties to the War Between the States.
Discover Joplin, Inside and Out
See fun attractions and enjoy natural beauty that abounds in Joplin.
Explore the Boone's Lick Region - Part I
Whether you spell it Boone's Lick or Boonslick, you'll be wowed by the unique history in this area of Northwest and Central Missouri.
Famous From the Ozarks
Here's a look at some famous folks with ties to Southwest Missouri.
Following Grant's Footsteps
Explore these locations on or near the U.S. Grant Trail.
Group Getaway: Home for the Holidays
Experience holiday fun, Missouri style, during this special getaway.
Haunted Places and Historical Sites in St. Charles
With plenty of historical sites to visit and haunted places along the Missouri River, there are adventures on every corner in St. Charles.
Heroes to Outlaws in St. Joseph
St. Joseph is often called the city where "The Wild West Began." Learn why during a tour of this city.
History and Healing
History and Healing - Relaxing Getaways in Missouri
History Lessons in Central Missouri
Sites in Central Missouri offer much more than a look at history in the Show-Me State.
Holiday Getaway - Central Missouri
Enjoy shopping, dining, and exploring Central Missouri during the holidays.
Holiday Getaway - Northeast Missouri
Enjoy cities of all sizes during your holiday escape to Northeast Missouri.
Holiday Getaway - Northwest Missouri
There's plenty to see and do during your holiday trip to Northwest Missouri.
Holiday Getaway - Southeast Missouri
Learn more about regional history and culture in Southeast Missouri.
Honor Tour - Part One
Explore these military museums and monuments in Central and Northwest Missouri.
Honor Tour - Part Three
Military Museums and Memorials in northeast and southeast Missouri
Kansas City's Civil War Heritage
See historic homes, plus sites related to the Civil War Battle of Westport.
Missouri's Great River Road
Enjoy the sights along Missouri's section of the Great River Road.
Missouri's Public Servants
Learn more about the history of public safety in Missouri.
Presidential Stomping Grounds
Independence is known as Harry Truman's hometown, but its fascinating history pre-dates the only Missourian ever elected president.
Route 66 Part One
Route 66 is a great way to explore the Show-Me State and to see some truly unique sites.
Route 66 Part Two
Charming cities and unique attractions along Route 66.
Contact Us | Blog | Privacy Statement | ADA Compliance | Help Us Help You | Facebook Disclaimer
Listings of businesses and events appearing on this site are supplied by the entities themselves. All information is subject to change without notice. Listings are posted for information only. The Missouri Division of Tourism (MDT) assumes no responsibility or liability for the accuracy or the content of individual listings or for the validity of any Web links included therein. A listing appearing on VisitMO does not imply endorsement or recommendation by MDT, the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the State of Missouri or any department/division thereof.
Web Development by SteadyRain Internet Strategy, Web Design, and Online Marketing