Sign up to receive e-newsletters, discounts and promotions
Arrow Rock hosts one of Missouri's oldest and most popular heritage festivals, featuring traditional and modern hand-crafted items, historic reenactments, living history presenters, entertainment and food.
Booths feature: weaving; spinning; needlework; rug hooking; bobbin lace; gunsmithing; blacksmithing; soap making; rope making; pottery; woodworking; printing; and medical exhibits.
Note: Address and phone shown are for the Friends of Arrow Rock office. The festival takes place throughout the village of Arrow Rock.
Join professional folk musicians Cathy Barton, Dave Para and friends at the Arrow Rock Federated Church, as they usher in the season with a variety of Christmas folk songs. Cathy and Dave have brought this event to Arrow Rock for more than thirty years. Free will offering at the door.
This six-course dinner is based on the book, Christmas with Dickens, by Cedric Dickens. It is an evening of bygone revelry centered on a period 1870s English Christmas dinner and readings from A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens.
Guests are encouraged to join in singing carols and playing games that are included in Dickens' writings. Guests who would like to don period attire for the evening are welcome to do so. $60/person Reservations necessary: 660-837-3200 or email@example.com.
This shop features fine antiques, china, glassware and jewelry. Interior designer services are provided on-site. We buy and sell Baby Grand pianos.
"Reflections of African-American Arrow Rock, 1865-1960," is a permanent exhibit located in Brown Lodge in the village of Arrow Rock. The entire village is a National Historic Landmark.
Using oral histories, records and artifacts, the story of achievement in the face of adversity serves as an inspiration to this and future generations.
This charming home, built in 1853, is filled with antiques. It is on the National Historic Register. Two guestrooms, one with a fireplace. Porch swings. Full breakfast.
Established in 1961, the Lyceum produces professionally staged musicals, dramas and comedies. June-November each year, this 408-seat theatre attracts professional talent from across the country, to produce and perform an eight show season.
Performers, designers, directors, and technicians take-up residence in Arrow Rock for five months, to present Broadway-caliber productions for the Lyceum’s audiences.
Tickets: $35; age 62+, $31; ages 13-21, $20; ages 4-12, $15.
The Lyceum Theatre is affiliated with Actors Equity Association, the union for professional actors and stage managers in the United States, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.
The Santa Fe Trail crossed the Missouri River here. Landmarks include artist George Caleb Bingham's house, the circa 1834 Huston Tavern, a one-room jail, a visitor center museum, camping, hiking trails and picnicking. The Huston Tavern offers dining in an 1860s atmosphere. Arrow Rock is 13 miles north of I-70.
The site offers 47 campsites: 12 basic; 34 with electricity; and one with electric, sewer and water. On-season (April 15-Oct. 31) services include a dump station, shower facilities and woodlot, along with potable water spigots located throughout the campground. There is a special-use camping area.
There are hiking trails, picnic sites and a visitor center museum. The Santa Fe Trail crossed the Missouri River here. Landmarks include artist George Caleb Bingham's house, the 1834 J. Huston Tavern and a one-room jail.
Located 13 miles north of I-70 on Route 41. Check-in: 3 p.m. Check-out: 2 p.m. Reservations: 877-422-6766 or online at www.MoStateParks.com.
The entire village of Arrow Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic places.
Take a one-and-a-half hour tour of this 1800s village in a seven-passenger tram. Stops include the restored 1837 home of artist George Caleb Bingham; the Victorian home and gun shop of J.P. Sites; and other hostoric sites.
Sign up for the tram tour at the Friends of Arrow Rock office, on the boardwalk in Arrow Rock; or schedule in advance by phone.
June-Aug., tours operate daily. April-May and Sep.-Oct., tours are on Sat.-Sun. only.
Price: $5; younger than 12, $2.50; groups, $3 per person.
As early as 1805, Daniel and Nathan Boone, sons of famed frontiersman Daniel Boone, processed salt from Boone's Lick Spring. A trail with interpretive panels leads to the spring. Picnic sites are available. This historic site is managed out of Arrow Rock State Historic Site. Located 12 miles northwest of Boonville on Route 187, off Route 87.
The four guestrooms share three bathrooms. Rooms are decorated with oak and walnut antique furniture.
The sitting room contains books and games for your enjoyment; the one TV tunes in the local channels.
Cinnamon rolls are a specialty; they are served with eggs, bacon and fried apples.
There is a cat in residence.
A unique store featuring clothing; materials and supplies for historic reenacting; Missouri-made food items, soaps; and unusual gifts. Located in the old blacksmith shop.
We have another location (our main store), eight miles away in Blackwater.
The village of Arrow Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Voted Best Restaurant in Missouri by Rural Missouri Magazine in 2012 and 2013. Catalpa is a small, fine-dining restaurant in a little red brick house in Arrow Rock, a village of 56 people on the Missouri River at the very beginning of the Santa Fe Trail. This is definitely not a “stuffy” place; we want you to feel free to laugh with us (or at us) when you come here.
Chef Liz can modify many dishes to be gluten-free and even offers visitors the opportunity to call ahead to discuss dietary needs.
We have only eight tables in the dining room and one Chef’s Table in the kitchen. There is a screened porch and brick patio, which we utilize when weather permits. Our limited menu is eclectic changes regularly. We use local produce and meats whenever possible.
Cooking classes are offered by reservation, for groups of six to eight people. Private dinner parties for 10 or more and luncheons for 15 or more may be booked for any day the restaurant is normally closed.
Open Friday and Saturday evenings, February thru December, by reservation only.
NOTE: In addition to our regular hours, during the Lyceum Theatre season (June-August) we serve early supper after all matinees and before evening performances. Please visit our website or call for information.
At Chez Trappeur, world-class wines from Missouri join French, Italian, Spanish and California wines, along with fine cuisine in a historic setting.
The three front doors of the 1890s home lead to three distinct spaces.
Door 1: The bistro restaurant, where the menu is continental French, adjusted to the Midwest palate. Ingredients are locally sourced, with a commitment to farm-to-table cuisine as much as possible.
Door 2: The tasting room, in the underground cellar, holding more than 100 selections from around the world; many available to sample and by the glass.
Door 3: The bar is a plush, relaxing place serving wines, beers and microbrews, plus a other refreshments.
Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Check their website for details, hours, special events, wine list and menus. Although walk-ins are welcome, reservations for dinner are advised.
This hotel is designed to resemble a train station from yesteryear, with all the amenities of today. We offer fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon. Browse the lobby showcasing keepsakes and antiques from days long gone. We have data port telephones, copy and fax machines, and a meeting room. Some rooms include a jetted tub.
Free hot breakfast buffet includes: Scrambled eggs; flavored waffles; biscuits and sausage gravy. Free casino shuttle. FEMA compliant.
Located off of I-70, at exit 101; within one mile of Katy Trail State Park.
Built in 1912, this bungalow is the only one of its kind in Arrow Rock. Five guestrooms with private baths; also a private guest cottage with kitchen. Full breakfast is served. Relax on the front porch. Reunions, church and business retreats are welcome.
In this museum, you learn about quinine, the world's first wonder drug, and the frontier doctor who popularized its use to treat fevers, especially malaria.
Experience history while you dine. This building has served travelers along the Santa Fe Trail since 1834, making it the oldest continually-serving restaurant west of the Mississippi River. Tours are available year-round, but the restaurant itself is open seasonally.
The tavern was built by Joseph Huston as the Huston family home in 1834, as a Federal-style 2 1/2 story brick structure. By 1840, Huston was known as a hotelkeeper, serving Missouri River and Santa Fe Trail Travelers. At this time, a brick addition was added housing a mercantile store on the first floor and ballroom that doubles as the town hall on the second floor.
A rare example of 19th century decorative stenciling has survived and the lobby maintains the original wood floors. Frame additions for dining space and additional bedrooms were added after 1850 and the detached summer kitchen was incorporated into the main building.
A cupola on the roof houses a salvaged steamboat bell that announced meal times and emergencies. Visitors today enjoy ringing the bell by tugging the rope that hangs in the lobby, suspended from above.
In 1912, the National Old Trails Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) brought national attention to the “Old Tavern” because of its association with the Santa Fe Trail. In 1923, the DAR persuaded the state legislature to purchase the Tavern for $5,000, making it the first building in Missouri set aside for historic preservation with public funds. They were appointed by the state as “custodians” of the Tavern; in 1937 they reported that they had served 1,834 meals, an amount now surpassed in a single month.
The J. Huston Tavern has been serving meals to travelers along the Santa Fe Trail since 1834. The brick tavern maintains the flavor of the 1850s, including the original wood floors in the lobby. The tavern is the oldest continuously-serving restaurant west of the Mississippi River.
The tavern features an old-fashioned ice cream parlor in The Tap Room, which served as the town mercantile for many years. The three dining rooms serve hearty country fare. The menu features family-style fried chicken, glazed ham, and other traditional dishes. Voted the "Best Fried Chicken in the State," by Rural Missouri magazine readers in 2011. A rotating lunch menu includes soups, sandwiches, salads and, always, fried chicken. Picnic food items, including fried chicken, are available for carry-out.
During the Lyceum Theatre season (April-December), we are open Wednesdays and Fridays, 5 p.m.-7 p.m., if there is a performance scheduled. Please call for reservations.
This museum features a collection of telephone memorabilia, including pieces dating to the days before direct-dial systems. Open March-December.
Aviation museum featuring interactive exhibits, some designed especially with young people in mind; videotaped personal stories; restored aircraft; and memorabilia. School field trips are encouraged and can be arranged by contacting the museum in advance.
Admission: $6; group discounts available.
Prairie Park is the 1849 Greek Revival mansion built by William B. Sappington, son of quinine Doctor, John Sappington. It is now a private residence with museum-quality, period furnishings.
The Friends of Arrow Rock staff provides an intimate tour, taking you back to Missouri's plantation era. Minimum of six people. Reservations required.
This cemetery is the burial place of Missouri governors Meredith Miles Marmaduke and Claiborne Fox Jackson, along with Dr. John Sappington, a pioneer in the use of quinine to treat malaria. All were prominent Arrow Rock citizens. The cemetery is located five miles southwest of Arrow Rock.
At the Switzler House, guests enjoy the simplicity of primitive decor while basking in the luxury of fine linens and sumptuous amenities.
Have complete privacy in the 1,000 square-foot cottage; you are the only guests. A perfect spot for a romantic weekend, an artist's retreat, and a girls' getaway.
Visit our website for all the details, special packages and reservations.
Tour the historic town of Arrow Rock with this self-guided walking tour. Download a printable version of the map from the website before you go and take a trip back in time to the days of Lewis & Clark.
From the antique tin ceilings to the checker board floor, the Zuzak building is a unique place to begin exploring downtown Boonville. Our art gallery features works from the Boonslick Region – paintings, photography, jewelry, ceramics, fiber arts, and “artiques” are featured.
Special exhibits in the front gallery change throughout the year. Workshops and classes are offered.
Two blocks from the Katy Trail.
Celebrate Black History in Missouri
Celebrate the contributions of noteworthy Missourians.
Explore the Boone's Lick Region - Part I
Whether you spell it Boone's Lick or Boonslick, you'll be wowed by the unique history in this area of Northwest and Central Missouri.
The Civil War: Grant and Gray Ghosts
Explore Civil War sites with ties to the Ulysses S. Grant and Gray Ghost Trails.
Where Gray Ghosts Walked
Confederate Guerrillas, known as Gray Ghosts, were active in these areas.
Contact Us | Blog | Privacy Statement | ADA Compliance | Help Us Help You | Facebook Disclaimer
Listings of businesses and events appearing on this site are supplied by the entities themselves. All information is subject to change without notice. Listings are posted for information only. The Missouri Division of Tourism (MDT) assumes no responsibility or liability for the accuracy or the content of individual listings or for the validity of any Web links included therein. A listing appearing on VisitMO does not imply endorsement or recommendation by MDT, the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the State of Missouri or any department/division thereof.
Web Development by SteadyRain Internet Strategy, Web Design, and Online Marketing