Sign up to receive e-newsletters, discounts and promotions
The Bauvais- Amoureux House was built circa 1792 by Jean Baptiste St. Gemme Bauvais. It overlooks Le Grand Champ, the fertile agricultural fields of colonial Ste. Genevieve. Its upright cedar log walls are set directly in the earth in the rare poteaux-en-terre method of construction. Hewn timbers form the Norman trusses which support the steeply pitched roof reminiscent of French Canada. Purchased by Benjamin Amoureux in 1852, the house is now part of the Felix Valle State Historic Site. It features an impressive diorama depicting the village of Ste. Genevieve in 1832.
The two-story courthouse, built in 1873, houses the courtroom where the Ford brothers were tried for the murder of Jesse James.
The Common Pleas Courthouse was completed in 1854. It sits high atop a hill, overlooking downtown. It played a big part in our history, from American Indian council meetings to the Civil War. The dungeon was used to jail southern sympathizers and perhaps Confederate soldiers.
On the west side of the courthouse stand three memorials: A cast of a Union soldier, who sits atop a fountain way, was presented by the Women's Relief Corps in 1911; another, made from Georgia silver gray marble, was presented to the city in 1931, by the United Daughters of the Confederacy; the third is a Vietnam Memorial.
This attraction has an audio tour you can access on your cell phone while on-site, to give you the complete history.
This memorial statue in Ridge Park Cemetery represents a combination of Confederate and Union soldiers. Austin Dennis fought for the South; his brother Davis for the North. A monument lists the area's Confederate veterans.
A masterpiece of French Romanesque Revival architecture, the Compton Hill Water Tower dates from 1898, when it housed a massive column of water that regulated the pressure entering the City's fresh water system.
Although surpassed in the 1920s by other water technology, the Water Tower remains a revered landmark on the City's near south side, and is on the National Register of Historic Places as one of only seven such water towers remaining in the United States.
Situated on one of the City's highest elevations, the Tower's 179-ft. height offers spectacular, 360-degree views of city neighborhoods, the downtown Gateway Arch and nearby Illinois. Visitors can climb the 198-step inside stairway to see panoramic daytime and dramatic nighttime vistas. Viewing dates are monthly from April to November - afternoons of the first Saturday and evenings of a full moon. See website for location, calendar of visitor dates and other details.
This circa 1885 two-story brick house was built by Darius Heald, son of War of 1812 veteran Nathan Heald. The home's second story was destroyed by a tornado in 1915 and rebuilt one foot shorter. Open January-September and during special events. Closed holidays. Admission: $2. Tours available by appointment. In Fort Zumwalt Park.
Built in 1852, this was the first two-story brick home in Clinton. Once the home of Judge J.G. Dorman, Udolpha Miller Dorman and their seven children. It is available for tours and private events. Contact the Henry County Museum for a private tour.
In the summer of 1861, four forts were built around the strategic city of Cape Girardeau. Fort D was designed by German-American engineers. The forts were built by soldiers, under the direction of Lt. John Wesley Powell; he later gained fame as the explorer of the Grand Canyon.
Fort D featured as many as five cannons, the largest of which could fire a 32-pound cannon ball. The fort was manned throughout the Civil War.
Of the four earthen forts, only Fort D remains. It is located four blocks south of the intersection of Route 74 and Sprigg Street. Living History demonstrations are held Memorial weekend, July 4th and Labor Day.
417 South Main St. was a stagecoach inn and tavern stop on the St. Louis-Des Moines, IA route. Restored in 1928, the brick structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Enjoy displays of a wide variety of historic items; free admission. Call for hours and tour information.
In the Bloomfield City Cemetery, a short distance east of the Civil War Memorial Cemetery, is the burial site of William “Irish Bill” Kingsley – an Irish orphan who was put in the British Navy. As an adult he served in the American Navy and later was a Confederate artilleryman. He lived to be 124 years old. See photo on marker.
From age 22 until he was 33, Harry Truman lived here, on his grandmother's farm. The farmhouse, built in 1894, is operated by the National Park Service.
The farmhouse is not open for tours. The grounds are open daily for self-guided tours. Audio tour available.
This was President Harry S Truman's residence from 1919 until his death in 1972; before, during and after his service as president.
Tour tickets must be obtained at the Visitor Center, at 223 N. Main St., downtown. Tours start every half-hour. Tours are limited to eight people. Open Tuesday-Saturday year round. Closed Sunday-Monday and all federal holidays.
Located in the historic Independence Fire Station No. 1, this is the place to obtain tickets for touring the Truman home in Independence. The visitor center contains an audio/visual program about Harry Truman's home life, exhibits of objects from the Truman home, a bookstore, and restrooms.
Open Tuesday-Saturday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Closed Sunday-Monday and all federal holidays.
Hay's Ten Mile Store is one of the most authentic ol' time country general stores in the nation. The store was built in 1904. Since then, the structure has changed little. All of the original shelving, counters, showcases, and advertising pieces are intact.
Tour the store, with its wide array of antiques and farm supplies, which gives it that authentic atmosphere. Located six miles east of Macon; four miles north on Route K. Open Saturdays only, year-round.
Henry and Bellona Miller were born in Missouri before it became a state in 1821. Three Miller sons served in the Confederate Army. Their home (circa 1850) was invaded several times by Federal troops, but survived the war. National Register of Historic Places recognition is pending.
Restored one-room school that operated at Higgerson Landing on the Mississippi River in 1948. Higgerson School is a window into the educational practices that shaped and served rural America. Experience the typical school day of a youngster who would have attended all eight grades in one room, with one teacher.
Admission: $3; ages 6-12, $1.50.
This scenic street, once part of the Santa Fe Trail, runs along the bluff above the Missouri River. The district contains more than 25 homes built in the 1800s. Don’t miss the Missouri River overlook from the World War Memorial Steps.
Historic District map available at Lexington Tourism Bureau, 927 Main St.
Historic Bethel German Colony is 45 miles west of Hannibal. Founded by Dr. Wilhelm Keil in 1844, Bethel was the most successful communal colony in Missouri. Today, this tiny community of 117 residents strives to preserve its rich heritage.
The colony offers the public an opportunity visit a time when colonists lived by the golden rule and shared crops, clothing, crafts and even their earnings. Spend a day exploring an 1800s colony; follow a mapped walking tour; visit shops and museums; enjoy a house-made meals at the Fest Hall (Mon.-Sat., 6 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun., noon-2 p.m.); take part in festivals and parades; witness a way of life when no doors were locked and your home was your neighbors.
See our website for details.
The Longview Mansion was built in 1914 by lumber baron Robert A. Long for his daughter, Loula Long Combs, an internationally renowned horsewoman. The mansion was the heart of Longview Farm, once known as "The World's Most Beautiful Farm." The mansion is now a premier special events facility. Group tours are available by appointment only.
Faust Historic Village is a collection of buildings that were moved to Faust Park from locations in the Chesterfield and St. Louis area, in order to save them from demolition.
The buildings, circa 1840-1890, are open to the public for tours weekdays (for a fee) and by appointment. During the tours, these homes are staffed by trained docents who recount the history of each house. A blacksmith is working in the blacksmith shop many weekends throughout the summer. On select weekends, the village is open to the public for free.
Experience history while you dine. This building has served travelers along the Santa Fe Trail since 1834, making it the oldest continually-serving restaurant west of the Mississippi River. Tours are available year-round, but the restaurant itself is open seasonally.
The tavern was built by Joseph Huston as the Huston family home in 1834, as a Federal-style 2 1/2 story brick structure. By 1840, Huston was known as a hotelkeeper, serving Missouri River and Santa Fe Trail Travelers. At this time, a brick addition was added housing a mercantile store on the first floor and ballroom that doubles as the town hall on the second floor.
A rare example of 19th century decorative stenciling has survived and the lobby maintains the original wood floors. Frame additions for dining space and additional bedrooms were added after 1850 and the detached summer kitchen was incorporated into the main building.
A cupola on the roof houses a salvaged steamboat bell that announced meal times and emergencies. Visitors today enjoy ringing the bell by tugging the rope that hangs in the lobby, suspended from above.
In 1912, the National Old Trails Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) brought national attention to the “Old Tavern” because of its association with the Santa Fe Trail. In 1923, the DAR persuaded the state legislature to purchase the Tavern for $5,000, making it the first building in Missouri set aside for historic preservation with public funds. They were appointed by the state as “custodians” of the Tavern; in 1937 they reported that they had served 1,834 meals, an amount now surpassed in a single month.
The Jacques Guibourd Historic House was constructed in 1806 in the poteaux-sur-sole style with vertical, hand-hewn log walls and double pitched roof. This important National Register site is the only historic house in Ste. Genevieve where the visitor can view and study 'up close', the Norman truss architecture employed at the time.
The house displays a more refined rendition of the typical French Colonial residence in the era of Lewis and Clark and is finished with elegant French antiques. The museum is owned and operated by the Foundation for Restoration of Ste. Genevieve, Inc. as a memorial to its donor, Jules Felix Vallé.
The Jacques Guibourd House gives discounts to members of organizations who participate in the Time Travelers Program. Admission includes a costumed docent-guided tour. Open daily April through the 1st weekend in December.
Built in 1894-95, this Romanesque Revival building is constructed of Carthage stone and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Its turrets, towers and arches evoke a feel of a medieval castle looming over the city below.
Inside, a wrought-iron cage elevator still operates and an array of military artifacts and mining specimens are displayed along with the “Forged in Fire” mural by Lowell Davis that portrays the history of Jasper County.
A display representing the history of Route 66 was added in 2009. The Jasper County Courthouse is said to be the second-most-photographed building in the state of Missouri. Closed state and national holidays.
Jefferson Barracks was established in 1826 as the country’s first “Infantry School of Practice." It served as a major United States military installation until it was deactivated in June 1946. Named as a tribute to former President Thomas Jefferson, who died on the fourth of July in 1826, the post played an important role in westward expansion.
Jefferson Barracks served as a gathering point for troops and supplies bound for service in the Mexican War, Civil War, various Indian conflicts, Spanish-American War, Philippine War, and World Wars I and II. Jefferson Barracks also served as the first Army Air Corps basic training site. Robert E. Lee, Jefferson Davis, Zachary Taylor, Ulysses S. Grant, Philip Sheridan, Stephen W. Kearny and William T. Sherman were a few of the famous Americans to serve at Jefferson Barracks.
In 1950, the federal government ceded the northern 420-acres of the post, including its oldest surviving buildings from the 1850s, to St. Louis County for use as Jefferson Barracks Park. In 1971, Jefferson Barracks Park, the adjacent active military base and several other adjoining land parcels were placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Jefferson Barracks Park is open from 8 a.m. to ½ hour past sunset. The park museums are open noon-4 p.m., Wednesday through Sunday, and are closed Mondays, Tuesdays, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. Admission is free but a donation is suggested. Note the Missouri Civil War Museum at Jefferson Barracks is open daily, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
The memorial includes the Gateway Arch, the Museum of Westward Expansion, and the Old Courthouse. Ride the tram to the top of the Gateway Arch; view a film; enjoy the extensive collection of artifacts and history of the American West in the museum; learn about the freedom trials of Dred Scott, which took place at the Old Courthouse. Operated by the National Park Service.
A Day at the Capital
Enjoy a visit to Jefferson City, the capital of Missouri.
Celebrate Black History in Missouri
Celebrate the contributions of noteworthy Missourians.
Civil-War Sites in Southeast Missouri
Check out these sites that have close ties to the War Between the States.
Discover Joplin, Inside and Out
See fun attractions and enjoy natural beauty that abounds in Joplin.
Explore the Boone's Lick Region - Part I
Whether you spell it Boone's Lick or Boonslick, you'll be wowed by the unique history in this area of Northwest and Central Missouri.
Following Grant's Footsteps
Explore these locations on or near the U.S. Grant Trail.
Heroes to Outlaws in St. Joseph
St. Joseph is often called the city where "The Wild West Began." Learn why during a tour of this city.
History Lessons in Central Missouri
Sites in Central Missouri offer much more than a look at history in the Show-Me State.
Holiday Getaway - Central Missouri
Enjoy shopping, dining, and exploring Central Missouri during the holidays.
Holiday Getaway - Northwest Missouri
There's plenty to see and do during your holiday trip to Northwest Missouri.
Holiday Getaway - Southeast Missouri
Learn more about regional history and culture in Southeast Missouri.
Honor Tour - Part Three
Military Museums and Memorials in northeast and southeast Missouri
Missouri's Public Servants
Learn more about the history of public safety in Missouri.
Presidential Stomping Grounds
Independence is known as Harry Truman's hometown, but its fascinating history pre-dates the only Missourian ever elected president.
Route 66 Part Two
Charming cities and unique attractions along Route 66.
What was that sound? Experience these haunted locations to find out.
St. Louis Arch-itecture Day One
Enjoy the sites and styles of architecture you find across one of Missouri's most historic cities.
Step Back in Time
The history of Cape Girardeau is on full display during this getaway.
The Civil War in Southwest Missouri
Check out historic sites and battlefields in this region of the Show-Me State.
The Civil War: Grant and Gray Ghosts
Explore Civil War sites with ties to the Ulysses S. Grant and Gray Ghost Trails.
Way of American Genius - Part 1
This section of the Way of American genius focuses on folks such as Walt Disney and Mark Twain.
Contact Us | Blog | Privacy Statement | ADA Compliance | Help Us Help You | Facebook Disclaimer
Listings of businesses and events appearing on this site are supplied by the entities themselves. All information is subject to change without notice. Listings are posted for information only. The Missouri Division of Tourism (MDT) assumes no responsibility or liability for the accuracy or the content of individual listings or for the validity of any Web links included therein. A listing appearing on VisitMO does not imply endorsement or recommendation by MDT, the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the State of Missouri or any department/division thereof.
Web Development by SteadyRain Internet Strategy, Web Design, and Online Marketing